How Ambitious Are You?

Being happy is something you have to learn. I often surprise myself by saying “Wow, this is it. I guess I’m happy. I got a home I love. A career that I love. I’m even feeling more and more at peace with myself.” If there’s something else to happiness, let me know. I’m ambitious for that, too.  – Harrison Ford

Life is an open space for infinite possibilities. Living everyday for a lot of years gives us the sense that we have to do something.

Since we are not dying yet, it sounds logical that we should try to find purpose, that we have to find something meaningful to do in the meantime, and with this mindset we go and learn, develop, grow, build and share things and feelings… but we also forget, ignore and destroy in order to accomplish whatever purpose we follow.

While we grow up, we are taught to dream high and work (or get others to work) to get what we dream. We go everyday “I want to do this“, “I have to do this and that“, and depending on the quantity and the quality of our desires, people admire us and call us “ambitious” and “determined”

We become ambitious about what we want, because most of the times we think we will find happiness in it.

And to accomplish our desires, sometimes we create to-do lists with items that outline our goal. Items that have a beginning, a middle and an end, and when we finish one, we jump to another thing, then to another one… and one more, until it becomes… endless to stop.

It becomes important to achieve things but sometimes we forget to enjoy what we do, we forget to be happy doing those things.

We think all those things are important. Of course they are, no doubt about it.
I’m not against goals and to-do lists, but the unhappiness they produce.

I have to-do lists, project list, supermarket lists. Daily, I have an amount of work that has to be delivered on time, and surely I don’t like to feel unhappy or stressed at the end of the day. I transform ideas into plans. I’m ambitious about my profession, about travelling with my loved one, about friends and feelings too. But the most important ambition I have is to be happy.

Is Real Happiness your bigger ambition?
Or is the Idea of Happiness?

Hint: Real Happiness and the Idea of Happiness are not the same. The first one is an accion and happens all the time, when you realize about the moment you are in. The second one is a concept that requires a medium to be tangible. that medium can be a thing, a person, an idea or a feeling.

Every morning, while you shower or take that first cup of coffe in the morning say to yourself: “Today I will find happiness in everything around me” “Today, I want everybody around me to be happy”.

Repeat it at every moment you can, when you drive, when you go to the bathroom, when you go to bed… repeat it with calm and honesty, and please, come back to tell how it goes…

Published by

sinrevelar

Creative strategist connecting human with brands. Life Expressionist. Film Lover.

Leave a Reply

